About our meeting

The meeting will cover a number of topics related to the analysis of data obtained in solar MHD simulations and their interpretation in connection to high spatial and temporal resolution observations. In particular, sessions are planned regarding: 

  • Simulating excitation and propagation of MHD waves in solar plasma, 

  • Simulating plasma instabilities,

  • Effective numerical tools towards more realistic physics in modelling,

  • Numerical simulations and spectral line synthesis,

  • Identification and analysis of plasma flows.

Talks and interactive sessions regarding state-of-the-art codes such as Bifrost, MANCHA, MURaM, PENCIL, LARE3D and AMRVAC will be used to look at instabilities, heating, waves, and the physics needed to replicate observations in the new high-resolution era of telescopes and satellites. Comparisons and contrasts between the codes will be investigated.

Discussion time has been scheduled to ensure a hands-on approach as well as the interaction between the scientists and allow for the generation of ideas for collaboration. Our aim is to develop new projects, leading to publications and grant applications. 

The organisers welcome applicants from around the globe. We particularly encourage applications from early career researchers, who will be given preference as invited speakers. We also highly welcome abstracts from members of under-represented groups in the field. Financial support will be made available for PhD students who attend the conference.

This meeting was originally the 6th UK Ukraine and Spain (UKUS) meeting. Due to the war going on in Ukraine, we have decided to have a regular meeting instead and to hold the 6th UKUS in Ukraine once the war is over. Our SOC stands with Ukraine in these terrible times, and we suggest the links below to receive donations to help the Ukrainian people. 

SOC and LOC

Suzana Silva (Co-Chair)

The University of Sheffield

E-mail: suzana.silva@sheffield.ac.uk

Rahul Sharma (Co-Chair)
Northumbria University
Email: rahul4.sharma@northumbria.ac.uk

Iñigo Arregui

Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, Spain

E-mail: iarregui@iac.es

Viktor Fedun

The University of Sheffield, UK

Tel.: +44 (0)114 222 51 97

E-mail: v.fedun@sheffield.ac.uk

Yuri Khotyaintsev

Swedish Institute of Space Physics, Sweden

Tel.: +46 (18) 471 59 29

E-mail: Yuri.Khotyaintsev@irfu.se

Kris Murawski

Institute of Physics, Marie Curie-Sklodowska University, Poland

Tel.: +48 (081) 537-61-98

E-mail: kmur@kft.umcs.lublin.pl

Gary Verth

The University of Sheffield, UK

Tel.: +44 (0)114 222 38 28

E-mail: g.verth@sheffield.ac.uk

Liudmila Kozak

Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, Ukraine

E-mail: kozak@univ.kiev.ua

Edris Tajfirouze
Northumbria University, UK
Tel.:  +44 (0)191 349 5372
E-mail: edris.tajfirouze at northumbria.ac.uk

 

Malcolm Keith Druett (Co-Chair)

KU Leuven, Belgium

E-mail: ​​malcolm.druett@kuleuven.be

 

Oleg Cheremnykh

Space Research Institute of NASU and NSAU, Ukraine

E-mail: ch_ol@ikd.kiev.ua

Ramón Oliver

Universidad de Las Islas Baleares, Spain

Tel.: +34 97 117 2836

E-mail: ramon.oliver@uib.es

Eamon Scullion

Northumbria University, UK

Tel.: +44 (0)28 9097 35 73

E-mail: eamon.scullion@northumbria.ac.uk

Elena Khomenko

Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias, Spain

Tel.: +34 922 60 53 19

E-mail: khomenko@iac.es

Sergei Zharkov

University of Hull, UK

Tel.: +44 (0) 148 246 58 42

E-mail: s.zharkov@hull.ac.uk

Igor Zhuk

Space Research Institute of NASU and NSAU

E-mail: zhukigor@gmail.com

Dave Jess
Queen's University Belfast, UK
Tel.: +44 (0) 28 9097 6338
E-mail: d.jess@qub.ac.uk

Valentina Zharkova

Northumbria University, UK

E-mail: valentina.zharkova@northumbria.ac.uk

Supported by
1280px-KU_Leuven_logo.svg.png